Overlooking the village of Prodromos on Troodos mountain, deep within the pine forest, lies the Berengaria hotel, a former luxurious resort that used to be one of the crown jewels of Cyprus mountain tourism. Opened in 1931 and closed down in 1984, the stone-built Berengaria today stands desolate, its rooms and halls that once entertained even royalty are now home to dust, obscene graffiti and exposed to the elements. Having withstood the passage of time, Berengaria has now become an unofficial and rather dangerous tourist attraction. Like all self-respecting abandoned old buildings, Berengaria also has its share of myths surrounding it, most passed down during family gatherings around the fire. All the ?ghost great hits? are here. Its aesthetic, its stunning location, eerie atmosphere and abundance of legends make for an irresistible combination. Locals who are curious to see a hotel that attracted an international clientele in its golden days, tourists who stumbled upon its story online or merely a passerby who got a glimpse of the impressive building in the distance all come to visit. Some very basic work has been done. A temporary roof and essential support structures have been installed, original fixtures and fittings removed and plaster stripped from the walls. But despite this, the original building is relatively unchanged.